The North Somerset Building Excellence Awards are about encouraging excellent building practice and acknowledging builders who go the extra mile. They are judged not on architectural beauty, but on the “excellence” shown from a construction and technical building control perspective.

The awards recognise excellent practice across a complete range of buildings projects – from major commercial developments to the construction of new homes, conversions, domestic extensions and sustainable development.

If you've used our team for your project, you can enter the awards to:

  • Gain recognition for your achievements
  • Increase your company's profile and reputation
  • Reward your team for excellent work
  • Be entered into the regional LABC Building Excellence Awards

It’s not all about looks! We consider other important factors including:

  • The challenges you faced in meeting or exceeding building regulations and how you overcame them
  • Effective working relationships with LABC surveyors
  • Outstanding craftsmanship
  • Innovation and problem solving
  • Sustainability and high performance
  • Site and project management
  • Inclusivity – where applicable is there evidence of an inclusive approach that exceeds part M.

How to enter

Any building project completed after 1 January 2021, for which we provided the Building Control Service, irrespective of size, may be considered for one of these prestigious awards.

Simply complete the nomination form and send it to: by 31 December 2021.

Regional Awards

North Somerset award winners are also entered into The LABC Regional Building Excellence Awards. These are the largest business to business awards in the UK.

The awards celebrate your achievements in the construction industry. They reward excellent buildings, outstanding companies, and partnerships and individuals that go that extra mile.

LABC wants to award technical design and construction skills and focuses on well-built buildings that comply with the Building Regulations. Of course, the Awards are also a great opportunity to network!

The network covers all local authorities in England and Wales and is split into 12 regions, each of which holds its own regional awards. North Somerset falls under the West Region.